The Rivals | Raleigh Little Theatre | Stage | Indy Week

Stage

The Rivals

When: Fri., Oct. 2, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 3, 3 & 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 4, 3 p.m., Thu., Oct. 8, 8 p.m., Fri., Oct. 9, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 10, 3 & 8 p.m., Sun., Oct. 11, 3 p.m., Thu., Oct. 15, 8 p.m., Fri., Oct. 16, 8 p.m., Sat., Oct. 17, 3 & 8 p.m. and Sun., Oct. 18, 3 p.m. 2015

THE RIVALS

FRIDAY, OCT. 2­–SUNDAY, OCT. 18, RALEIGH

RALEIGH LITTLE THEATRE—Actors Comedy Lab and Raleigh Little Theatre's annual co-excursions usually focus on contemporary humor. But this year, director Rod Rich goes a bit further back (1775, to be exact) with the Richard Brinsley Sheridan comedy of manners that gave the world another way to make a fool of itself with words: the malapropism. Mrs. Malaprop (Morissa Nagel) imperiously presides over an uneasy courtship as Jack Absolute (Jonathan King) fears himself insufficiently dashing to woo the fantasy-smitten Lydia Languish (Sarah Beth Short). Sheridan reminds us to speak carefully, for words—the ones we trip over, blurt out and mistakenly substitute for others—are what make and unmake lovers, authorities and rivals. 8 p.m. Thurs.–Sat.; 3 p.m. Sat.–Sun., $13–$22, 301 Pogue St., Raleigh, 919-821-3111, www.raleighlittletheatre.org. —Byron Woods

Price: $13-$22

Add a review

Rating

Select a star to rate.