Statewide offices | On the Ballot | Indy Week

Elections » On the Ballot

Statewide offices

Timeline for November general election
Oct. 10: Deadline for mail-in registration
Oct. 16–Nov. 1: One-stop registration and early voting
Nov. 4: Election Day, polls open 6:30 a.m.–7:30 p.m.

State Board of Elections: 919-733-7173 or 866-522-4723,

Click underlined candidate names to read available questionnaires.

D = Democrat
R = Republican
L = Libertarian
NP = non-partisan
UNA = unaffiliated


Bev Perdue D
Pat McCrory R
Michael Munger L

Lieutenant Governor

Walter H. Dalton D
Robert Pittenger R
Phillip Rhodes L

Council of State

Attorney General

Roy Cooper D
Bob Crumley R

Superintendent of Public Instruction

June St. Clair Atkinson D
Richard Morgan R

N.C. Supreme Court (1 seat)

Robert H. (Bob) Edmunds, Jr. NP
Suzanne Reynolds NP

N.C. Court of Appeals (5 seats)

Arrowood Seat
John S. Arrowood NP
Robert N. (Bob) Hunter, Jr. NP
Martin Seat (unopposed)
John C. Martin NP
McCullough Seat
Doug McCullough NP
Cheri Beasley NP
Stephens Seat
Linda Stephens NP
Dan Barrett NP
Wynn Seat
James A. (Jim) Wynn NP
Jewel Ann Farlow NP
Tyson Seat
Sam J. Ervin IV NP
Kristin Ruth NP

Secretary of State

Elaine F. Marshall D
Jack Sawyer R

Ag Commissioner

Ronnie Ansley D
Steve Troxler R

Insurance Commissioner

Wayne Goodwin D
John Odom R
Mark McMains L

Labor Commissioner

Mary Fant Donnan D
Cherie Berry R


Janet Cowell D
Bill Daughtridge R


Beth A. Wood D
Leslie Merritt R

General Assembly


District 29
Larry D. Hall D
Justin Lallinger L
District 30
Paul Luebke D
Sean Haugh L
District 31 (unopposed)
H M (Mickey) Michaux D
District 33
Dan Blue D
Paul F. Terrell III R
District 34
Grier Martin D
J.H. Ross R
District 35
Jennifer Weiss D
Eric Weaver R
District 36
Al Swanstrom D
Nelson Dollar R
District 37
Ed Ridpath D
Paul Stam R
District 38
Deborah K. Ross D
Susan Hogarth L
District 39
Linda Coleman D
Duane Cutlip R
District 40
Stanley Morse D
Marilyn Avila R
District 41
Ty Harrell D
Bryan Gossage R
District 50 (unopposed)
Bill Faison D
District 54 (unopposed)
Joe Hackney D
District 55 (unopposed)
W.A. "Winkie" Wilkins D
District 56 (unopposed)
Verla C. Insko D


District 14
Vernon Malone D
Carol (Bennet) Dalenko R
District 15
Chris Mintz D
Neal Hunt R
Jan MacKay L
District 16
Josh Stein D
John M. Alexander, Jr. R
District 17
Richard Stevens R
Brian Irving L
District 18
Bob Atwater D
Roger Gerber R
District 20
Floyd B. McKissick Jr. D
Kenneth R. (Ken) Chandler R
David Rollins L
District 23
Ellie Kinnaird D
Jon G. (Greg) Bass R

Add a comment