Pump Boys and Dinettes | Kennedy Theater | Stage | Indy Week

Stage

Pump Boys and Dinettes

When: Wed., May 27, 8 p.m., Thu., May 28, 8 p.m., Fri., May 29, 8 p.m., Sat., May 30, 2 & 8 p.m., Sun., May 31, 3 p.m., Wed., June 3, 8 p.m., Thu., June 4, 8 p.m., Fri., June 5, 8 p.m., Sat., June 6, 2 & 3 p.m. and Sun., June 7, 3 p.m. 2015

PUMP BOYS AND DINETTES

WEDNESDAY, MAY 27–SUNDAY, JUNE 7, RALEIGH

KENNEDY THEATRE—Things haven't changed much lately out on Highway 57—and by "lately," we mean since 1982, when Chapel Hill expat Jim Wann (who co-wrote the Red Clay Ramblers' Diamond Studs: The Life of Jesse James) and friends launched this musical slice of Southern Americana on Broadway. But then, the good people of Frog Level, North Carolina, might not reckon time the way you or I do. Jim and L.M., the pump boys at the filling station, are still handy with a song. Sisters Prudie and Rhetta Cupp preside, as ever, down at the diner—and they'll still sing out your shame if you don't tip. Tim Seib directs and Ethan Andersen leads the band in this Theatre Raleigh production. 8 p.m. Weds.–Sat.; 2 p.m. Sat.; 3 p.m. Sun., $25–$27, 2 E. South St., Raleigh, 919-832-9997, www.theatreraleigh.com.Byron Woods

Tags

Add a review

Rating

Select a star to rate.