Music | Fall Guide | Indy Week

Special Issues » Fall Guide

Music

comment

MusicBy city and alphabetically by group or venue. For current theater events, please see our weekly "Theater" calendar.

RALEIGH

ALLTEL PAVILION AT WALNUT CREEK: Rock, country and pop. Tue, Oct 17: Counting Crows with Live. Rock Quarry Rd, Raleigh. 834-4000.

CENTER STAGE: (Also see entries under "Fall Dance" and "Fall Theater") Music and arts series. Thu, Oct 5, 8 pm: Danilo Perez Trio. Stewart Theatre, Talley Student Center, NCSU Campus, Raleigh. 515-1100. Call for ticket information.

LITTLE LAKE HILL HOUSE CONCERT SERIES: Old-time, blues and traditional music in private homes. Fri, Sep 29, 8 pm: Scott Ainslie. Private residence, Raleigh. 787-6378 or visit www.bettpadgett.com for details.

MEREDITH COLLEGE: Sat, Sep 30, 8 pm: Gayle Shay, soprano. Wed, Oct 11, 8 pm: Jacqueline Keese, voice recital. Thu, Oct 12, 8 pm: United States Air Force Band (Jones Auditorium). Mon, Oct 23, 7:30 pm. Capital City Girls Choir and Meredith Choral Ensembles (Jones Auditorium). Mon, Nov 6, 8 pm: Faculty and Guest Recital. Fri, Nov 10, 8 pm: Geraldine Cate, benefit concert. Tue, Nov 14, 8 pm: "Music in Paris," faculty concert. Sat, Nov 18, 8 pm: Courtney Register, voice recital. Sun, Dec 3, 3 & 8 pm: Christmas Concerts (Jones Auditorium). Fri, Dec 8, 7:30 pm: Capital City Girls Choir (Jones Auditorium). Carswell Recital Hall, Meredith College, 3800 Hillsborough St, Raleigh. 760-8536. Call for ticket information.

NC MUSEUM OF HISTORY: Free concerts sponsored by PineCone. Sun, Oct 8, 3 pm: Marvin Gaster and Friends. Sun, Nov 12, 3 pm: Nixon, Blevins and Gage. Sun, Dec 10, 3 pm: Mishpacha. 5 E Edenton St, Raleigh. 715-0200.

NC STATE DEPARTMENT OF MUSIC: Sun, Sep 24, 8 pm: Two Harpsichords and Two Pianos ($6; $5 faculty/staff; $3 NCSU students). Talley Student Center, NCSU campus, Raleigh. 515-1100.

NC SYMPHONY: Classical series: Fri & Sat, Sep 22 & 23, 8 pm: New Century Saxophone Quartet. Fri & Sat, Oct 20 & 21, 8 pm: David Lockington, conductor. Fri & Sat, Nov 17 & 18, 8 pm: Raleigh Oratorio Society. Sun, Dec 31, 7 pm: Viennese New Year's Eve. Pops series: Fri & Sat, Sep 29 & 30, 8 pm: Roger Williams, piano. Fri, Nov 24, 8 pm; Sat, Nov 25, 2 & 8 pm: Holiday Pops with Concert Singers of Cary. Young People's Concert series: Sat, Sep 30, 11 am: Symphonasaurus. Memorial Auditorium, 1 E South St, Raleigh. 733-2750. Call for ticket information or visit www.ncsymphony.org.

PEACE COLLEGE: Sat, Sep 23, 11 am: New Century Saxophone Quartet and Peter Schickele. Mon, Sep 25, 8 pm: Jewel Edgerton Williamson Chamber music series. Mon, Oct 30, 8 pm: Faculty Concert. Sat, Nov 11, 11 am: Norman Krieger, piano. Mon, Nov 13, 8 pm: Jewel Edgerton Williamson Chamber Music series. Mon & Wed, Dec 4 & 6, 7 pm: Betty Vaiden Wright Williams Christmas Concert. Kenan Recital Hall, Browne-McPherson Music Building, Peace College, 15 E Peace St, Raleigh. 508-2294.

PINECONE: Bluegrass and old-time music series. Stewart Theatre series: Thu, Oct 12: Keb' Mo'. Sat, Nov 4: Mark O'Connor. Sat, Dec 2: Laurie Lewis, Tom Rozum and Bruce Molesky. Stewart Theatre, Talley Student Center, NCSU campus, Raleigh. Garner free-concert series: Sat, Sep 23, 6 pm: Ralph Blizard & The New Southern Ramblers (Lake Benson Park). Sun, Oct 22, 3 pm: Robert Starling (Garner Historic Auditorium). 990-1900 or visit www.pinecone. org.

RALEIGH CHAMBER MUSIC GUILD: Masters Series: Sun, Oct 8, 3 pm: St Lawrence String Quartet ($16; $5 students). Sun, Nov 12, 3 pm: Carmina Quartet ($16; $5 students). Ravenscroft Fine Arts Center, 7409 Falls of the Neuse Rd, Raleigh. Sights & Sounds on Sundays series: Sun, Oct 29, 3 pm: Mountain Chamber Players ($6). NC Museum of Art, 2110 Blue Ridge Rd, Raleigh. 821-2030.

RALEIGH ENTERTAINMENT & SPORTS ARENA: Popular music. Fri, Oct 6, 8 pm: Reba McEntire ($48 & $58). Sun, Oct 8, 7:30 pm: Tina Turner with Joe Cocker ($35.25-$79.25). 1400 Edwards Mill Rd, Raleigh. 834-4000.

RALEIGH FLUTE CHOIR: Sun, Oct 22, 4 pm: Fall Concert (Carswell Auditorium, Meredith College, Raleigh; free). Fri, Dec 8, 8 pm; Sun, Dec 10, 3 pm: Christmas Concert ($6). NC Museum of Art, 2110 Blue Ridge Rd, Raleigh. 787-4142.

RALEIGH ORATORIO SOCIETY: Sun, Oct 22, 3 pm: Haydn's Creation (Hayes Barton Baptist Church, Raleigh). Sat, Dec 9, 3 pm: Joy of the Season (Kirk of Kildaire Presbyterian Church, Cary). Sun, Dec 10, 3 pm: Joy of the Season (Jones Auditorium, Meredith College, Raleigh). 856-9700. Call for ticket information.

RALEIGH SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA: Sun, Oct 22, 7:30 pm: Images of New World Cultures. Jones Auditorium, Meredith College, 3800 Hillsborough St, Raleigh. 546-9755. Free.

UNIVERSITY THEATRE: Sep 27-30, 8 pm; Oct 1, 3 pm: Once in a Lifetime ($5-$12; Stewart Theater, Talley Student Center). Nov 2-4, 8-11, 8 pm; Nov 5 & 12, 3 pm: Fences ($5-$12; Thompson Theatre). NCSU Campus, Raleigh. 515-1100.


DURHAM

CAROLINA THEATRE: (Also see entries under "Fall Theater") Sun, Oct 8, 2 pm: Mark Russell. Sun, Oct 22, 7 pm: The Marcus Roberts Trio. Sun, Nov 26, 3 & 7 pm: An Evening with John Berry. 309 W Morgan St, Durham. 560-3030.

CHAMBER ARTS SOCIETY: Chamber music. Sat, Nov 18, 8 pm: Emerson String Quartet. Sat, Dec 9, 8 pm: Jacques Thibaud String Trio. Reynolds Theatre, Bryan Center, Duke West Campus, Durham. 684-4444. Call for ticket information.

CHORAL SOCIETY OF DURHAM: Choral music. Sat, Dec 9, 8 pm; Sun, Dec 10, 4 pm: Carols for the Nativity ($12; $5 students). Duke Chapel, Duke West Campus, Durham. 968-4914.

CIOMPI QUARTET: Chamber music. Sat, Sep 30, 8 pm: J. Mark Scearce, guest composer. Sat, Nov 11, 8 pm: James Tocco, piano. Nelson Music Room, East Duke Building, Duke East Campus, Durham. 660-3333.

DUKE ARTISTS SERIES: Classical music. Wed, Nov 1, 8 pm: Renee Fleming, soprano. Page Auditorium, Duke West Campus, Durham. 684-4444. Call for ticket information.

DUKE DEPARTMENT OF MUSIC: Wed, Oct 4, noon: Rebecca Troxler, flute (Duke Memorial Chapel). Mon, Oct 9, 8 pm: Rebecca Troxler, flute and Lee Teply, harpsichord. Sat, Oct 21, 8 pm: Music at the Threshold: The "Jass" and "Clazzical" Bridge in Music ($12; students free). Sun, Oct 22, 3 pm: Hsiao-Mei Ku, violin and Jane Hawkins, piano. Fri, Oct 27, 8 pm: Duke Chorale, Symphony Orchestra and Wind Symphony (Duke Chapel; $5; students free). Sun, Oct 29, 2 pm: In the Spotlight. Sun, Oct 29, 5 pm: Roberta Gary, organ (Duke Chapel). Tue, Oct 31, 8 pm: Duke Wind Symphony Halloween Concert (Baldwin Auditorium). Fri, Nov 10, 7 pm: Duke Wind Symphony Viennese Ball (Durham Armory, 220 Foster St, Durham). Fri, Nov 10, 8 pm: Synaesthesia: An Evening of Mixed-Medium Performance in the Black Mountain Tradition. Sun, Nov 12, 3 pm: Duke Collegium Musicum (Duke Chapel). Wed, Nov 15, noon: Musica Humana (Duke Memorial Chapel). Sat, Nov 18, 8 pm: Graduate Composers Concert. Sun, Nov 19, 2 & 8 pm: Duke Opera Workshop ($10; $6 students). Sun, Nov 19, 5 pm: John Mitchener, organ (Duke Chapel). Wed, Nov 29, 8 pm: Duke Djembe Ensemble. Thu, Nov 30, 8 pm: Duke Wind Symphony Copland Centennial (Baldwin Auditorium). Fri, Dec 1, 7:30 pm; Sat, Dec 2, 2 pm; Sun, Dec 3, 3 pm: Duke Chapel Choir, Messiah (Duke Chapel; $12). Wed, Dec 6, 8 pm: Duke Symphony Orchestra (Baldwin Auditorium). Thu, Dec 7, 7 pm: Duke Chorale Christmas Concert (Duke Chapel). All Nelson Music Room unless otherwise noted, East Duke Building, Duke East Campus, Durham. 660-3333.

DUKE INSTITUTE OF THE ARTS: (Also see entries under "Fall Dance" and "Fall Theater") Living Traditions Series: Fri, Sep 22, 8 pm: Boukman Eksperyans (Reynolds Theater, West Campus; $10-$21). Sat, Oct 7, 8 pm: Nass Marrakech (Nelson Music Room, East Campus; $8 & $16). Thu, Nov 2, 8 pm: Oumou Sangare & Habib Koite with Bamada, "Voices of Mali" (Reynolds Theater, West Campus; $10-$21). Sat, Nov 4, 8 pm: Ensemble Bulgari (Reynolds Theater, West Campus; $8 & $16). Sat, Nov 18, 8 pm: The Fisk Jubilee Singers (Baldwin Auditorium, East Campus; $6 & $12). Duke University, Durham. 684-4444.

DUKE JAZZ SERIES: In honor of Sonny Rollins; performing with the Duke Jazz Ensemble. Fri, Oct 6, 8 pm: Derrick Gardner, trumpet. Fri, Oct 27, 8 pm: Danila Satragno, vocals and George Cables, piano. Fri, Nov 17, 8 pm: Joanne Brackeen, piano. Baldwin Auditorium, Duke East Campus, Durham. 684-4444. $15; $12 seniors/students.

DUKE STRING SCHOOL: Youth orchestras. Sat, Oct 14: Fall Festival of Music. Sat, Dec 9: Holiday Festival of Music. Baldwin Auditorium, Duke East Campus, Durham. 660-3333. Free.

DURHAM SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA: Classical and pops. Sun, Sep 24, 6 pm: Outdoor Family Pops Concert (Oval Park, W Club Blvd, Durham; free). Sun, Oct 29, 7 pm: The Silver Anniversary Celebration (Carolina Theatre, 309 W Morgan St, Durham; $15; $6 students; children 12 and younger free). Sun, Dec 3, 7 pm: Holiday Pops (Durham Armory, 220 Foster St, Durham; $15 & $25). 560-2736.

ECHOES OF FOREVER: Piano concert by Lindsey Sutton; benefit for the National Society for Minorities in Hospitality. Fri, Oct 13: BN Duke Auditorium, NCCU campus, Durham. Sat, Oct 14: Page Auditorium, Duke West Campus, Durham. 684-4444. $10.

MALLARME CHAMBER PLAYERS: Chamber music. Sun, Nov 12, 3 pm: American Impressions. Durham Arts Council, 120 Morris St, Durham. 560-3030. $15.

NC SYMPHONY: Sat, Oct 7, 8 pm: Amadi Hummings, viola. Fri, Dec 1, 8 pm: Holiday Pops. Carolina Theatre, 309 W Morgan St, Durham. 560-3030. Call for ticket information.

ON STAGE AT DUKE: Jazz and pop. Thu, Oct 5, 8 pm: Cubanismo!. Page Auditorium, Duke West Campus, Durham. 684-4444. Call for ticket information.


CHAPEL HILL

ARTSCENTER: (Also see entries under "Fall Theater") Rock, jazz, blues and traditional. Fri, Sep 29, 8 pm: Bill Charlap, jazz piano ($15; $13 Friends). Fri, Oct 6, 8 pm: Lucy Kaplansky ($14; $12 Friends). Sat, Oct 7, 8 pm: Maura O'Connell ($19; $15 Friends). Sun, Oct 8, 7:30 pm: Open Jazz Jam ($4). Fri, Oct 13, 8 pm: Tret Fure with Jone Millington ($15; $13 Friends). Sat, Oct 14, 8 pm: Tannahill Weavers ($18; $15 Friends). Thu, Oct 19, 8 pm: Gregg Gelb Swing Band ($5). Fri, Oct 20, 8 pm: Loonis McGlohan Trio with Randa McNamara ($15; $13 Friends). Fri, Oct 27, 8 pm: Wiffer Creek and Jon Shain ($8; $6 Friends). 300-G E Main St, Carrboro. 929-2787. Call for ticket information.

CAROLINA UNION: (Also see entries under "Fall Theater") Mon, Oct 16, 7:30 pm. Yo-Yo Ma, cello. Memorial Hall, UNC-Chapel Hill. 962-1449. Call for ticket information.

NC SYMPHONY: Sat, Oct 14, 8 pm: Ani and Ida Kavafian, violin and viola. Sat, Nov 11, 8 pm: Norman Krieger, piano. Memorial Hall, UNC-Chapel Hill. 733-2750. Call for ticket information.

WILLIAM S NEWMAN ARTISTS SERIES: Classical music. Fri, Oct 13, 8 pm: Sofia Lissitchenko, piano. Sun, Oct 15, 3 pm: Melentiev Alexei, piano (free). Fri, Nov 10, 8 pm: Tirami Su: Slovak Music from the 17th Century. Sun, Dec 10, 3 pm: Qu'Appell Winds. Hill Hall Auditorium, UNC-Chapel Hill. 962-1039. Individual tickets: $12; $10 seniors; $5 students

UNC DEPARTMENT OF MUSIC: Classical and jazz. Sun, Sep 24, 3 pm: Home From Europe Program (Johnson Center for Undergraduate Excellence). Tue, Oct 10, 8 pm: UNC Jazz Bands Fall Concert. Thu, Oct 12, 8 pm: University Day Concert: UNC Symphony Orchestra. Fri, Oct 13, 4 pm : UNC Jazz Combos (Hill Hall Rm 107). Fri, Oct 20, 8 pm: Artistry in Rhythm: A Stan Kenton Tribute and Retrospective ($10; $4 students). Sun, Oct 22, 8 pm: Lighter Shades of Blue Fall Show (Student Union Great Hall; $4). Tue, Oct 24, 8 pm: Miles Davis in Gabrieli's Garden. Thu, Oct 26, 8 pm: UNC Wind Ensemble and Concert Band. Sat, Oct 28, 8 am-10 pm: Tar Heel Invitational Marching Band Championships (Kenan Stadium; $8; $4 students/seniors). Sun, Oct 29, 8 pm: Faculty Recital (Person Recital Hall). Thu, Nov 2, 8 pm: Harpsichord Music of the 20th Century (Person Recital Hall). Fri, Nov 3, 4 pm: UNC Jazz Combos (Hill Hall Rm 107). Sun, Nov 5, 3 pm: Faculty Recital. Thu, Nov 9, 8 pm: UNC Percussion Ensemble (Hill Hall Rm 107). Sat, Nov 11, 8 pm: Music for Cello and Piano. Fri, Nov 17, 8 pm: University Chamber Players (Person Recital Hall). Sun, Nov 19, 2 pm: UNC Guitar Ensemble (Person Recital Hall). Sun, Nov 19, 8 pm: Carolina Choir. Tue, Nov 21, 8 pm: Fall Glee Concerts. Tue, Nov 28, 8 pm: UNC Jazz Bands Fall Concert. Fri, Dec 1, 4 pm: UNC Jazz Combos (Hill Hall Rm 107). Fri, Dec 1, 8 pm: Noel: A 17th Century French Christmas. Sun, Dec 3, 3 pm: Sacred Masterpieces: A Celebration of Music and Art. Tue, Dec 5, 8 pm: UNC Wind Ensemble. Thu, Dec 7, 8 pm: UNC Symphony Orchestra (Memorial Hall). Fri & Sat, Dec 8 & 9, 8 pm: UNC Opera Workshop. Sun, Dec 10, 8 pm: UNC Concert Band. Fri, Dec 15, 8 pm: NC Jazz Repertory Orchestra Holiday Jazz Concert ($10; $5 students). Sat, Dec 16, 11 am: Young People's Concert and Instrument Petting Zoo ($3; children/students free). All Hill Hall Auditorium unless otherwise noted, UNC-Chapel Hill. 962-1039.


Add a comment