Durham County voting guide | Take-Along Voting Guides | Indy Week

Elections » Take-Along Voting Guides

Durham County voting guide


Durham County voters will decide a referendum on a proposed 1 percent prepared foods tax, elect a state senator and a member of the soil and water board, and weigh in on a full slate of federal and state contests. For more information or to find your polling place, call the Durham County Board of Elections at 560-0700 or visit www.co.durham.nc.us/departments/elec.

Early voting ends Saturday, Nov. 1; Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 4. During early voting, you can register to vote and cast your ballot on the same day.

The Independent does not endorse in unopposed races; here are our recommendations for the contested elections.


U.S. President: Barack Obama (D)

U.S. Senate: Kay Hagan (D)

U.S. Congress District 4: David Price (D)

Governor: Bev Perdue (D)

Lieutenant Governor: Walter H. Dalton (D)

Attorney General: Roy Cooper (D)

Auditor: Beth A. Wood (D)

Commissioner of Agriculture: Ronnie Ansley (D)

Commissioner of Insurance: Wayne Goodwin (D)

Commissioner of Labor: Mary Fant Donnan (D)

Secretary of State: Elaine F. Marshall (D)

Superintendent of Public Instruction: June St. Clair Atkinson (D)

Treasurer: Janet Cowell (D)

State Senate District 18: Bob Atwater (D)

State Senate District 20: Floyd B. McKissick Jr. (D)

State House District 29: Larry D. Hall (D)

State House District 30: Paul Luebke (D)

N.C. Supreme Court: Suzanne Reynolds (nonpartisan)

N.C. Court of Appeals: James A. (Jim) Wynn, Kristin Ruth, Cheri Beasley, Linda Stephens, John S. Arrowood (nonpartisan)

Soil & Water Conservation District Supervisor: Kathryn Spann (nonpartisan)

Prepared Food Tax Referendum: FOR

Comments (2)

Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

Add a comment